Skip to content

Remembering Teen View

July 1, 2009

In High School, I was a volunteer in a peer based sexual health education team called Teen View. We were sponsored by Planned Parenthood Mohawk Hudson, in Upstate NY, and we frequented middle schools and high schools in the region, as well as colleges, to educate teens and adults alike on the many situations plaguing youth today, including, but not limited to: eating disorders, STDs/STIs, homophobia, drugs and alcohol misuse, bullying, peer pressure, rape, teen pregnancy, and suicide. It sounds heavy, but we kept it fun and interesting and we had a great time doing it. We bonded with each other and most of us still remain close.

One former member, Katie, posted this in a note on Facebook today and it reminded me of a positive self-assurance piece that we would recite from time to time at the end of meetings or retreats. I post it here to share with you and I encourage you to share it with yourself and with others. It can only make the world a better place.

Because I am
The only person
I will have a relationship with
All of my life
I choose to love myself
Just the way that I am
To love, honor, and cherish myself
To be my own best friend
To always acknowledge
That I am enough
To always grow, develop, and share
My love and life honestly
To always do the things that will make me happy
But to never
Hurt anyone in the process
I cannot afford the luxury of negative thoughts
I must reject rejection
Because
I am beautiful
Sensitive
Intelligent
I am a priority
Not a minority
I am a miracle

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

